Undersong: Chosen Poems Old and New

Undersong: Chosen Poems Old and New

Written by: Audre Lorde
Publisher: W. W. Norton (September 1992)

“Here are the words of some of the women I have been, am being still, will come to be,” writes Audre Lorde of this volume, in which she brings together many of the most important poems she has written over the past thirty years. Chosen Poems is also, Lorde says, “a linguistic and emotional tour through the conflicts, fears, and hopes of the worlds I have inhabited.” Among those worlds are such earlier books as The First CitiesCables to RageFrom a Land Where Other People LiveNew York Head Shop and Museum, and Coal. “Only the worlds of Africa scrutinized in The Black Unicorn, too complex for excerpt, have been excluded.” The volume also includes seven new poems. As Adrienne Rich has written, Lorde, “for the complexity of her vision, for her moral courage and the catalytic passion of her language, has already become, for many, an indispensable poet.” Chosen Poems will provide for Lorde’s readers, both old and new, another proof of this continuing truth.

Undersong is a remarkable poetic document . . . .”
Adrienne Rich

Purchase from Amazon
Purchase from Barnes & Noble